The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts


Back to Index

For immediate Release
Contact: Joel Wachs, President – 212.387.7555
NOVEMBER 28, 2006 Warhol Foundation Elects Sherri Geldin Chair Together With Three New Board Members

Sherri Geldin, Director of the Wexner Center for the Arts, has been elected the new Chair of The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts. She succeeds renowned collector and philanthropist, Werner H. Kramarsky.

Joel Wachs, President of the Warhol Foundation, praised Mr. Kramarsky for his eight years of outstanding leadership and his steadfast defense of artistic freedom of expression. He also expressed confidence that Ms. Geldin would be a most worthy successor.

“We’re thrilled that Sherri has been named the new Chair of our board”, Wachs said. “Under her direction, the Wexner Center has become an international leader in the field of contemporary art, and I’m sure she will guide the Foundation with vision and verve.”

Also elected to the foundation board are three new members: James Keith Brown, prominent collector and head of investor relations for Och-Ziff Capital Management; world renowned artist Cindy Sherman; and attorney Michael Straus, member of the board of trustees of the Birmingham, (Alabama) Museum of Art.

The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts was established in 1987 in accordance with the will of the late artistic great. Its vision is to advance the visual arts by fostering innovative artistic expression with particular emphasis on work of a challenging and experimental nature.